The Cricket World Cup (part 3)

The ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy as any other is awarded to the winners of the competition. The current trophy was created since 1999 in London by a team of craftsmen from Garrard & Co over a period of two months, prior to this, different trophies were made for each World Cup.

The current trophy features a golden globe characterises a cricket ball held up by three silver columns shaped as stumps and bails, represent the three fundamental aspects of cricket: batting, bowling and fielding. The seam of 60 centimetres high and weighs approximately 11 kilograms is tilted to symbolize the axial tilt of the Earth. On the base of the trophy, there are space for names of the previous winners and a total of twenty inscriptions. The ICC keeps the original trophy and give a replica to the winning team with the only difference in the inscriptions.

Selection of hosts

The ICC committee votes for the hosts of the tournament after examining and selecting the bids made by the nations keen to hold a Cricket World Cup. Based on which, ICC decided that England should host the first tournament because it could devote the resources required to organising the inaugural event. However, English end up hosting first three consecutive competitions despite India volunteered to host the third Cricket World Cup. The reason is due to the longer period of daylight in England in June meant that a match could be completed in one day. Not until 1987, that the competition was held outside England but in India and Pakistan. After that, many nations from the same geographical region have been jointly hosted the competition, such as South Asia in 1987, 1996 and 2011, Australia and New Zealand hosted in 1992 and 2015, Southern Africa hosted in 2003 and West Indies hosted in 2007.