The Cricket World Cup (part 2)

During the course of time, the format of the Cricket World Cup has changed greatly. Initially, there were eight teams divided into two groups of four competing in two stages – group and knock-out. In the round-robin group, each team played against each other with the too two teams progressing to the semi-finals and the winners of the semi-finals played against each other in the final.
In 1992, with the end of the apartheid boycott, South Africa returned to the tournament and nine team played each other once in the group phase, and the top four teams progressed to the semi-finals. In 1996, the number of team increased to two groups of six teams and the top four teams from each group progressed to quarter-finals and semi-finals.

In 1999 and 2003 World Cups, another distinct format was used with teams were split into two pools, and the top three teams in each pool progressing to the Super 6. In the Super 6, each team carried their points forward from previous matches and top four teams from the Super 6 stage progressed to the semi-finals, with the winners playing in the final.
In the 2007 World Cup, 16 teams divided into four groups of four in which the teams competed against each other in a round-robin format to earn points for wins and half-points for ties. The top two teams from each group moved forward to the Super 8 round, carrying their points forward from previous matches and earn points in the same way as the group stage. The top four teams from the Super 8 round progressing to the semi-finals, and the winners of the semi-finals played in the final.
In 2011 and 2015 World Cups, there were two groups of seven teams, playing in a round-robin format and the top four proceeded to the knock out stage consisting of quarter-finals, semi-finals and ultimately the final. In the 2019 World Cup, 10 teams competed in a round robin format, before entering the semifinals like the 1992 World Cup.