The Cricket World Cup (part 1)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricket World Cup is the international championship organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years. The tournament is flagship event of the international cricket calendar and one of the world’s most viewed sporting events.
The first international match was organised between Canada and America in 1844; however, the first credited Test match was played in 1877 between Australia and England. Cricket was included as a part of Olympic sport in 1900 where Great Britain defeated France to win the gold medal.

The first international competition was a Test-run called the 1912 Triangular Tournament in England between three Test-playing nations England, Australia and South Africa. The event was not a success due to the wet summer making it difficult to play on damp uncovered pitches, and crowd attendances were poor. Ever since, international Test cricket has generally been organised as bilateral series rather than triangular until the Asian Test Championship in 1999.
The 1st World Cup was officially organised in England in June 1975 although a separate Women’s Cricket World Cup had been held two years before the first men’s tournament in 1912. From the 1987 tournament onwards, hosting has been shared between 14 members countries under an unofficial rotation system. The Cricket World Cup allows all members of International Cricket Council to participate, of which the highest-ranking teams receive automatic qualification and the remaining teams are determined via the World Cricket League and the International Cricket Council World Cup Qualifier.
Among eleven editions of the tournament, Australia has won the tournament five times, India and West Indies twice each, while Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won it once. England are the current International Cricket Council champions in the 2019 edition, the next International Cricket Council tournament will be held in India in 2023.